To pass your practical driving test you must have 15 or less driving faults, and no serious or dangerous faults.

The 3 types of driving test faults are:

  • A serious fault, which has the potential to be dangerous
  • A dangerous fault, which involves actual danger to yourself, the examiner, the public or property
  • A driving fault – which isn’t dangerous per say, but if you repeat a driving fault throughout the test it could become a serious fault

Here are the top 10 serious and dangerous faults which learners incurred in tests in 2011/2012:

• Junctions – Observation
• Mirrors – Change direction
• Junctions – Turning right
• Control – Steering
• Move off – Safely
• Response to lights – Traffic lights
• Positioning – Normal driving
• Move off – Control
• Reverse park – Control
• Response to signs – Road markings

At the end of your test the examiner will tell you if you’ve passed or not, and explain how your driving was, and which faults you incurred.